Florida’s “Move Over” law went into effect in 2002, and it was expanded in 2014 to protect operators of sanitation, utility service vehicles and wreckers. The law requires drivers to move over one lane or slow down to 20 miles per hour below the speed limit when approaching any authorized vehicle or wrecker displaying rotating or flashing lights.

The facts: If a driver doesn’t move over a lane or slow 20 miles per hour below the speed limit when approaching a vehicle with flashing lights on the side of a highway, a $120 fine and three license points can be assessed. For more information, see Florida Statute 316.126

This law saves lives and helps protect those who protect us. Law enforcement, emergency and service workers are out on the roads every day to make the roads safer and motorists need to help keep their workplace safe.

At Terrell Hogan, we represent the injured as they seek justice, but we also know that it’s best to try to find ways to prevent injury and loss before it happens.  So in addition to representing them when tragedy strikes, we hope to help protecting people from accidents and suffering wrongful death and personal injury. That’s why we feel it’s important to help spread this life-saving word. Please Move Over.